Convenience Centers

The Public Works Department provides seven Convenience Centers to collect the County’s solid waste and recyclables. The locations are in Woodlawn, Nebo, Sugar Hill, Crooked Creek, Dysartsville, Greenlee,  and at the 226 site on Highway 226 South of McDowell Technical Community College.

Six of the centers are open Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday from 6:30 in the morning to 6:30 in the evening. The Hwy 226 site is open Monday through Saturday, the same hours. Each of the centers takes bagged household waste in addition to newspapers, cardboard, aluminum and steel cans, glass containers and plastic.  Used motor oil is accepted at the 226 South Site.

Please visit this page for information about the Transfer Station (County Dump).


We do not take textiles anymore.  Citizens are encouraged to take to the Mission, Goodwill, or Salvation Army.